Monday, November 9, 2015

Indian Railways & IRCTC | Luxury Tourist Trains

Luxury Tourist Trains By IRCTC

Indian Railways and IRCTC offer an exciting opportunity to see India by Rail. It is a fascinating odyssey through time and space, cultures and history offering glimpses of unity amidst diversity, shrouded in enchanting mystery, colours that capture the heart while soothing the soul. No one offers the multi-dimensional magic of the real India more excitingly than the Indian Railways – the second largest railway system in the world covering around 65,000 km of track laid across around 8,000 stations, running around 19,000 trains every day. The convenient, well connected routes offer passengers hassle-free tours to some of the most exotic places in the world.

Palace on Wheels

An extraordinary train for the extraordinary people. A train with historic charm and modern conveniences. A royal train beckoning you to step aboard for a week of splendour. It takes you on a royal odyssey. Bringing alive the luxury of princely travel of the age of the Raj, the Palace-on-Wheels has also been designed to suit the modern needs with central air-conditioning, soothing four channel music, interconnected telephone system in the train, a separate pantry and lounge in each coach, comfortable with privacy of attached bathrooms, two specialty restaurants – “Maharaja” and “Maharani”, serving exotic Indian, Continental and Rajasthani cuisine, a reading and relaxing coach and friendly smiling attendants serving you round the clock.

The 14 coaches of the Palace-on-Wheels with rich decor that evoke the age of Rajput chivalry, are named after former Rajput States - Kota, Jaipur, Udaipur, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Bikaner, Alwar, Sirohi, Kishangarh, Bundi, Dungarpur, Bharatpur, Jhalawar and Dholpur. As most of the travelling is done at night, your days are left free for discovering the delights of Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh covering the itinerary of Delhi - Jaipur - Sawai Madhopur - Chittaurgarh - Udaipur - Jaisalmer - Jodhpur - Bharatpur - Agra - Delhi. For further details, please visit:

Royal Rajasthan on Wheels

After successfully running Palace on Wheels for more than two and a half decades, the Indian Railways in association with Rajasthan Tourism Development Corporation Ltd. launched a new train “Royal Rajasthan on Wheels” with added facilities compared to Palace on Wheels which itself is the bench mark in its segment, on the itinerary of Delhi - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Chittaurgarh - Sawai Madhopur - Jaipur - Khajuraho - Varanasi - Agra - Delhi. For further details, please visit:

Deccan Odyssey

Experience the finest and the best of train journeys of the world. The Deccan Odyssey is more than a mere luxury train cruise. A lavishly decorated train that transports its guests on an unforgettable sojourn on different itineraries covering different parts of the country. Facilities onboard include channel music, intercom, CD/MP3 player, wall-to-wall carpeting, money exchange / credit card facility, safety & security arrangements, health spa, conference equipments. The current itineraries are as under:

1. Mumbai - Aurangabad - Chandrapur -Jalgaon - Nasik Road - Kolhapur - Madgaon - Mumbai
2. Mumbai - Viswamitri - Palitana – Virawal - Virangam - Patan – Gandhi Nagar - Delhi
3. Delhi - Sawai Madhopur - Agra - Jaipur - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Vadodara - Viswamitri - Mumbai
4. Delhi - Sawai Madhopur - Jaipur - Agra - Vidisha - Jalgaon – Aurangabad - Mumbai
5. Delhi - Agra - Bharatpur - Sawai Madhopur - Jaipur - Delhi
6. Mumbai - Jalgaon - Vidisha - Sawai Madhopur - Jaipur - Bharatpur – Agra – Delhi

For further details, please visit: 

The Golden Chariot

The land once ridden by formidable armies is now traversed by the world’s unique luxury train. The Golden Chariot beckons you to discover worlds that are enriched with history and culture. Recline and relax as the magnificent scenery unfolds outside your window with luxury on the inside, thus far reserved for royalty. The Golden Chariot presents a fine balance between a glorious yesterday and an omnipresent tomorrow in the magical land of Karnataka, Goa, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry on the following itineraries.

1. Bengaluru - Mysuru - Hassan - Hosapetet - Badami - Goa - Bengaluru.
2. Bengaluru - Chennai - Puducherry - Thanjavur - Madurai - Nagercoil - Thiruvananthpuram - Ernakulam - Bengaluru.

For further details, please visit:

Maharajas’ Express

An Experience Extraordinaire – The Maharajas’ Express is a Luxury Offering from Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd., New Delhi. A design marvel, the train offers several unique features from having most spacious cabins to having personal valets attached to each cabin to take care of the guests. State of the art facilities like live TV, Wi-Fi internet, individual temperature control in each cabin, environment friendly toilet systems, CCTV cameras in public areas to ensure security, direct dialling telephones to make international calls, make the experience all the more enjoyable. With hair dryers, electronic safe deposit boxes in each room, and bath tubs, the train offers almost everything that one would imagine to travel in luxury.

Savoring the culinary delights, sitting in either of the two restaurants – Mayur Mahal and Rang Mahal, one can have a glimpse of the picturesque hinterland from the large windows specially created for the Maharajas’ Express. With four categories of accommodation to choose from guests can select the cabin they would wish to spend their sojourn – all with ensuite facilities. The train can accommodate 88 guests. There are 14 guest carriages featuring 43 cabins in total, which include 20 Deluxe Cabins, 18 Junior Suites, 4 Suites and one truly classical Presidential Suite.

A lifetime experience, the journey on Maharajas’ Express brings one closer to bygone era of imperial India. It operates on a number of itineraries as given below:

1. Delhi - Agra - Sawai Madhopur - Jaipur - Bikaner - Jodhpur - Udaipur - Mumbai.
2. Mumbai - Bhusawal - Udaipur - Jodhpur - Bikaner - Jaipur - Sawai Madhopur - Fatehpur Sikri   Agra - Delhi.
3. Delhi - Jaipur - Sawai Madhopur - Fatehpur Sikri - Agra - Gwalior – Khajuraho - Varanasi - Lucknow - Delhi
4. Delhi - Agra - Sawai Madhopur - Jaipur - Delhi

For further details, please visit:

Steam Train

Indian Railways proudly offer a unique two days all-inclusive package by combining thrills, romance and wildlife and heritage on a steam train. Special Features are given below:
  • Exciting journey on board a steam train
  • Stay at Hotel Tiger den or similar hotel
  • Safari in Tiger sanctuary
  • Train journey only also available
  • Steam train is also available for charter trips
Itinerary: On every 2nd and 4th Saturday starting from 2nd Saturday of October to 4th Saturday of April. For further details, please visit IRCTC website:

IRCTC LOGIN and Indian Railways Additional Resources:


Charbagh Railway Station, Lucknow

No comments:

Post a Comment